Zimbabwe cricketers arrive in Dhaka for 5-match T20 series

Zimbabwe cricketers arrive in Dhaka for 5-match T20 series

By Agencies

The Zimbabwe T20I squad arrived in Dhaka on Monday to take part in a five-match series against the hosts, starting on May 3rd in Chattogram.

Sikandar Raza will captain the 15-member squad, which features uncapped all-rounder Johnathan Campbell, a left-handed batter and leg-spinner. Tadiwanashe Marumani and Faraz Akram have also been recalled to the team.

The remaining members of the squad were part of Zimbabwe’s last T20I series away in Sri Lanka in January 2024.

This includes veterans Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, and Craig Ervine, with Blessing Muzarabani and Richard Ngarava leading the pace attack. Youngsters Clive Madande and Brian Bennett will also provide support.

With Zimbabwe yet to appoint a new head coach following Dave Houghton’s resignation late last year, former Zimbabwe international Stuart Matsikenyeri will lead the side against Bangladesh.

Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh series: Sikandar Raza (c), Faraz Akram, Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Jonathan Campbell, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Sean Williams.