Mapeza appointed interim Warriors coach; names squad for 4-nations tourney

Mapeza appointed interim Warriors coach; names squad for 4-nations tourney

By Sports Reporter

The Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) has appointed Norman Mapeza interim coach for the Warriors with the squad for the upcoming four-nations tournament in Malawi also announced.

The national association confirmed the development in a statement Tuesday.

“ZIFA is pleased to announce that Norman Mapeza has been appointed as the interim head coach of the men’s Zimbabwe national team, for the upcoming Four-Nations tournament in Malawi,” reads the statement.

“The tournament which will be played in Lilongwe from the 18th-26th of March, features hosts Malawi, Kenya, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

“Mapeza is the current head coach of Zimbabwe Premier League side FC Platinum with whom he has won multiple league titles.

“He is also a former national team captain and has had several stints as head coach of the men’s senior national team. Mapeza will be assisted by Ngezi Platinum Stars head coach, Takesure Chiragwi.”

Meanwhile, Mapeza has named his squad for the tournament, including an array of talent from various leagues around the world, including England, France, and Saudi Arabia.

Among the notable inclusions are Macauley Bonne, Shane Maroodza, and Miley Tavaziva, all plying their trade in England, adding depth and experience to the team’s attacking prowess.

However, the Warriors will be without key midfielders Bill Antonio and Marvelous Nakamba, both side-lined due to injuries.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Martin Mapisa (Dynamos), Marley Tavaziva (Brentford B, England),Donovan Bernard (Chicken Inn)

Defenders: Shane Maroodza (Huddersfield Town, England), Divine Lunga (Mamelodi Sundowns), Gerald Takwara (Ohod FC Saudi Arabia), Kevin Moyo (Dynamos FC), Teenage Hadebe (Tumosan Konyaspor, Turkey), Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders FC), Munashe Garan’anga (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Emmanuel Jalai (Dynamos FC), Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle, England), Jordan Zemura (Udinese Calcio, Italy), Joey Phuthi (Sheffield Wednesday, England)

Midfielders: Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims, France), Junior Makunike (Simba Bhora), Andy Rinomhota (Rotherham United, England),Tivonge Rushesha (Reading FC, England),Tawanda Chirewa (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Walter Musona(Simba Bhora FC)

Forwards: Tinotenda Kadewere (FC Nantes, France),Daniel Msendami (Jwaneng Galaxy, Botswana),Tawanda Maswanhise (Leicester City, England),Bonne Macauley (Cambridge United, England)